Are we part of a “Self-Pampering” culture?

Posted on October 15, 2007

7


My brother-in-law and I debate constantly. Last night we were debating why people go to starbucks? My argument was that it is mostly to feel good about spending 5$ on yourself, not much different than why people go shopping when they are feeling low. He argued people went there because they liked the taste. What do you think … You would spend 5$ everyday (btw this discussion is only for people who have some constraints on spending money and can’t spend on everything they want) which would mean about 150$/mo on something that you could make at home for much less. And in addition waste time especially getting off the freeway one exit earlier to buy coffee.

I think we are part of a “self-pampering” culture, where people buy things not because they need it, but because they feel good buying it. Ofcourse this culture is fueled by having the ability to spend money. Do you see an equal representation of people across all income groups buying at Starbucks … atleast I haven’t … I see all of them at grocery stores though.

What do you think?

Posted in: Kitchen Sink